College Accreditation

Blackhawk Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The HLC is a regional accreditation agency that accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education that are based in the 19-state North Central region of the United States. Institutions that HLC accredits are evaluated against HLC's Criteria for Accreditation, a set of standards that institutions must meet to receive and/or maintain accredited status.

Regional accreditation agencies are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit degree-granting colleges and universities. There are six regions of the U.S. in which regional agencies operate. The regional accreditation agencies have similar standards for accrediting colleges and universities.

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street Suite 7-500
Chicago IL 60604-1411

Programs Accreditation

  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)

  • American Culinary Federation

  • American Refrigeration Institute/Partnership for Air Conditioning, Heating, Refrigeration Accreditation

  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)

  • Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)

  • Commission on Dental Accreditation/American Dental Association

  • Department of Justice

  • Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology

  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)

  • National Automotive Technicians’ Education Foundation (NATEF) 

    National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

  • WI Department of Health Services